top of page

Errollyn Wallen Music for Tigers (2006)

For 2 violins, viola, cello and piano

10 minutes


This work is dedicated to Volker Schirp and John Jeffrey on the occasion of their marriage this year.


I wanted to write a work  which had spirit, energy and good humour. The first movement makes use of silence – silence that tumbles out of the music like hiccups. The second movement alludes to the atmosphere of the French countryside while the third and last movement draws on tango rhythms, finally moving into a whirlwind of motion.


© Errollyn Wallen, London August 2006


This piece was commissioned by the Schubert Ensemble in 2006 with funds gratefully received from The Steel Charitable Trust. It was first performed by the Schubert Ensemble for the City Music Society at Goldsmiths' Hall, London on  19th October 2006

Buy score

bottom of page