top of page

Sally Beamish Five Changing Pictures (1993)

For violin, viola, cello, double bass and piano

18 minutes

1. Child

2. Sky

3. River

4. Tree

5. Flame


This work is about the way different things change – imperceptibly or dramatically; sometimes things change continuously while changing their identity.


The ‘Child’ of the first piece remains essentially constant, while influencing everything around him. The other four pictures are seen through a child’s eyes – bold and simple like a child’s paintings.


The pieces are dedicated to my sons, husband, brother and aunt, and may be performed separately.


Five Changing Pictures was written for the Schubert Ensemble in 1993. It was commissioned by the Rochdale Music Society and premiered by the Schubert Ensemble in Rochdale on 7th May 1994.


Buy/hire score

bottom of page